About Us

The San Joaquin Valley Library System (SJVLS) supports ten public library jurisdictions in seven Central California counties. SJVLS provides a networking infrastructure linking these ten jurisdictions to assist in the delivery of public service. This infrastructure includes a shared library automation system, a telecommunications network that provides public Internet access, shared electronic resources, e-mail, an inter-system delivery of library materials, joint program planning and grant development, and other related activities.

SJVLS is a Joint Powers Authority agency established under the California Library Services Act (CLSA) on behalf of the member library jurisdictions. As set forth in the Joint Powers Agreement, SJVLS is governed by an Administrative Council made up of the directors from each of the member libraries. They operate under the authority of the Joint Powers Agreement and current by-laws.  The Administrative Council is supported by an Automation Committee, which oversees the acquisition and use of shared software, hardware, and the integrated library system, and an Electronic Resources Committee, which manages the shared digital resources such as databases and ebooks. Meetings of SJVLS Council and committees are subject to the Brown Act. Funding for SJVLS comes from member library contributions and the State of California through CLSA.

The member libraries of SJVLS are:

  • Coalinga-Huron District Library
  • Fresno County Public Library
  • Kern County Library
  • Kings County Library
  • Madera County Library
  • Mariposa County Library
  • Merced County Library
  • Porterville City Library
  • Tulare County Library
  • Tulare Public Library